Facebook has a “privacy shortcut” menu that gives you quick access to key privacy settings. You may have missed this feature, because it is behind an icon, and not everyone clicks through every icon. It’s worth finding the Privacy Shortcuts, though, because you can quickly check the privacy of your status posts, view how your page looks to the public, see what you’re tagged in, block users, and other things. Here are some tips on where you can find the privacy shortcuts on desktop and mobile.
FAQ: How can I see what my Facebook profile looks like to the “outside world”? I am about to start a job search, and I want to make sure I have things locked down. I don’t want potential employers digging around my Facebook timeline.
If you are a Facebook user and you would like to opt out of having Nielsen Online tracking and measuring your online moves and habits, here’s how to do that ….
FAQ: I am new to Facebook. What do I need to know about posting to someone else’s Timeline? When you first join Facebook, you can discover many old friends, acquaintances and relatives you may have lost touch with and want to recontact. It can be exhilarating to find so many of your contacts
Facebook gives you the option to use use secure browsing when a secure connection is available. This is a security option that all Facebook users should use. It is a no-brainer to say yes to. Facebook has turned this option on by default, but the rollout for this option may not have reached your area. Also, there may be some country-level differences. It is worth taking a few steps to make sure turn this option is on. It is well worth it, and we highly recommend it for all users.